Skip Content
Sign up for text message alerts


Literacy instruction is aligned to the Iowa Core standards and revolves around five areas: reading (fiction and informational text), writing, language, speaking and listening, and foundational skills (K-5).  All standards within the grade level are taught to each student; however, the literacy curriculum team has chosen priority standards that will be focused on and assessed more often to ensure readiness for the next grade level, college or career, and state level assessments.   

Literacy Mission Statement

Students will effectively use reading, writing, listening, and speaking skills to understand and value various types of text and become successful communicators.


Teachers in grades K-6 use McGraw Hill's Wonders materials as the base of the curriculum.  Other resources may be supplemented to ensure mastery of the standards.

Teachers in grades 7 and 8 use Pearson's StudySync for reading instruction and Scholastic's Six Traits of Writing for writing instruction.   Other resources may be supplemented to ensure mastery of the standards.

Teachers in grades 9-12 use various whole class novels, articles, short stories, and other types of media depending on the course.

Helpful Links

Iowa Core Standards

Progess Report Statements

Kindergarten Grade 1 Grade 2 Grade 3 Grade 4 Grade 5 
Grade 6 Grade 7 Grade 8 English 9 English 10-1 English  10-2
Foundamentals of Speech Speech II Adventures in Writing American Literature Contemporary Novels Composition I/II
Creative Writing Drama I Drama II Nonfiction Novels Play Reading
Poetry Publications Grammar Review Short Stories To Infinity and Beyond AP Literature/Advanced Composition
Written Communications Language Arts Lab