Skip Content
Sign up for text message alerts

World Languages

World Language instruction is aligned to the ACTFL World-Readiness Standards for Teaching Language.  These standards revolve around five areas referred to as the 5Cs (communication, cultures, connections, comparisons, and communities).  All standards at each language level are taught to each standard; however, the world language curriculum team has chosen priority standards that will be focused on and assessed more often to ensure readiness for the next level and college or career.   

World Language Mission Statement

Students in the Oskaloosa Community School District will be able to efficiently process and produce the target language in the areas of speaking, listening, reading, writing, and culture in order to prepare them to participate in a global society.

Iowa Seal of Biliteracy

The Seal of Biliteracy is an award given by a district to recognize students who have attained proficiency in two or more languages, one of which is English, by high school graduation. For more information on how the state with determine proficiency for each language, please see the Iowa Department of Education website. There will be an informational meeting on Nov. 20th at 6:00 in the 21st Century Room at the Highschool for any family that would be interested in learning more about this recognition. If you would like more informatio, please contact the Steph Wilson, the Biliteracy program coordinator.

Helpful Links

ACTFL Standards

Progess Report Statements

Spanish I Spanish II Spanish III Spanish IV